Nationals Crit

With two of the three races at nationals, done and out-of-the-way, I had an idea of who was strong and who might win. The crit course was fairly short, and had rough spots in the pavements, and potholes all over. The corners were tight and this race was going to be a bit dangerous. After call-ups to the line, I rode up with the rest of the pack. Unfortunately, I didn’t get prime position, on the start line. The whistle blew and we were on our way.

With a few laps out-of-the-way I settled into my rhythm, and started to move up a bit. The first part of the race was fast and furious, but mid way through it slowed down a little bit. At the third corner it was a bit tight and  the outside kept getting pushed into the curb.

With 5 laps to go the pace rocketed up. Through the corners people were cutting people off and slamming on their brakes, with the pace high it was a little bit dangerous.  I kept trying to move up, and I barely moved up 10 spots.

The final lap was tough and crazy. I felt I was in perfect position, however coming into the last turn, I realized that I was to far back in the pack to win and contend for podium spots. I pushed to the line and barely beat out 5 girls for 9th.

Overall, nationals was the best and I learned a lot and gained a lot of experience. I cannot wait until next year, but let’s just hope it is a bit colder in Augusta!

Check back soon for some product reviews and v-blogs!!

Leave a Reply

